Skip to content
BD2US
← Back to college list

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania · Basic research profile · Information checked Aug 2026

University of Pennsylvania

University of Pennsylvania is a private institution in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The listed annual cost before aid is about $89,028. It reports aid for 28.2% of international students.

This profile contains basic institutional context. BD2US has not completed its detailed deadline, testing, English-proficiency, and scholarship review for this college.

PrivateUniversityCity: LargeXL (20K+)Need-aware
Compare

01

At a glance

Start with the numbers—then investigate the story.

Annual cost of attendance

$89,028Calculated from official information · 2023-24 · U.S. Department of Education NCES/IPEDS. Previous-cycle on-campus estimate calculated from the official out-of-state tuition and fees, books, room and board, and other-expense components.

International students receiving aid

28.2%This published share describes past awards; availability does not guarantee affordability.

Average international award

$67,366An average is not a promise. Award amounts can differ substantially by student.

Overall acceptance rate

5.867%Calculated from official information · 2023-24 · U.S. Department of Education NCES/IPEDS. Institution-wide context, never an estimate of your individual chance.

International acceptance rate

Not yet confirmedOfficial review still needed. A separate international rate is not reliably published for many colleges.

Ranking context

#15 global · QS 2027Universities show only their official QS 2027 global rank.
02

Application plans and deadlines

Know which choices restrict you—and when each item is due.

EDEarly Decision

Binding first-choice application; decisions in December.

RDRegular Decision

Nonbinding; permits comparison of aid offers.

EDED application

November 1, 2026

RDRD application

January 5, 2027

03

Application requirements

Testing, English proficiency, and scholarships

SAT / ACT

SAT or ACT required; hardship waiver available; self-reporting and superscoring accepted

SAT composite
Not listed
Math middle 50%
770–800
EBRW middle 50%
730–770
SAT submitted
51%

SAT/ACT required; hardship waiver available for applicants who have not tested. Self-reporting and superscoring accepted. Latest ED tests: SAT November 7, ACT October 17; RD: SAT December 5, ACT December 12, 2026.

Official testing policy ↗ · Checked Oct 2026

English proficiency

Reviewed test routes

TOEFL
Minimum not specified on reviewed page
IELTS Academic
Minimum not specified on reviewed page
Duolingo
Minimum not specified on reviewed page

Required unless English is native or was the primary teaching language for at least three years by enrollment. Official scores required; TOEFL MyBest and IELTS One Skill Retake not accepted. For 2026–27, exams must date from April 1, 2025 or later. This page gives no numerical minimums.

Official English-test guidance ↗ · Checked Oct 2026

Scholarships to check

No named scholarship confirmed

Missing does not mean unavailable. Search the college's official undergraduate scholarships and international financial-aid pages.

04

Bangladesh applicant lens

What this information means

Treat affordability as a first filter

The listed price is high enough that a Bangladeshi applicant needing substantial support should confirm international need-based aid or named scholarships before investing heavily in the application.

Aid prevalence is not aid generosity

28.2% receiving aid shows how common an award was in the reported year, while the average award helps estimate scale. Neither figure explains your likely package or the current policy.

Selectivity needs context

A low overall rate means the college should be treated as highly uncertain for every applicant. It cannot be the only financial or academic route on your list.

05

Fall 2027 research checklist

Verify these before the college enters your final list.

  1. Affordability: net price for international students, need-based eligibility, merit awards, renewal conditions, and indirect costs.
  2. Application policy: Fall 2027 testing requirements, English-proficiency routes, application plans, fee waivers, and deadlines.
  3. Academic fit: intended major, curriculum flexibility, first-year support, research access, and any portfolio or prerequisite requirements.
  4. International support: housing, health insurance, airport arrival, visa-document timeline, campus employment, and advising.

Climate context

Annual average 12.1°C; January is typically the coldest month and July the warmest.

Campus safety

Review the college's official annual security report and compare definitions, campus size, and reporting years.

Open the federal campus-safety lookup ↗

Official sources

Identity, overall admission counts, and available score ranges are checked against U.S. Department of Education information. Confirm changing application policies on the college's official pages.

See the original research note

University of Pennsylvania is a private institution located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The campus setting is city: large and it is a XL (20K+) size school. For financial aid, the total cost of attendance is approximately $91,860 per year, it operates on a Yes (aware) need policy, approximately 28% of international students receive financial aid with an average award of $67,366. Regarding admissions, its overall acceptance rate is 5%.